2017 Blake Leader Awards

Sir Peter Blake remains one of New Zealand’s greatest heroes. He expressed through his actions what is best in all of us – the propensity to dream wonderful adventures, the courage to pursue them, the ability to turn the vision into reality and the will to succeed.

The annual Sir Peter Blake Leadership Awards are the premier awards for leadership achievement in New Zealand. By highlighting the contribution of these Blake Leaders, the Sir Peter Blake Trust hopes to turn the spotlight on leadership in New Zealand, inspiring and motivating all Kiwis to make a difference.

2017 Nominations

Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination for an exceptional and inspirational New Zealand leader to be considered for a Blake Leadership Award. We've had an overwhelming response.

Our Selection Panel now have the tough job of selecting up to six Blake Leaders and one Blake Medalist for 2017. The successful nominees will be announced at the Blake Leadership Awards Dinner on Friday 16 June 2017, hosted by Governor-General, The Rt Hon Dame Patsy Reddy at Government House, Wellington.

Each year the Sir Peter Blake Trust looks for exceptional leaders from all corners of society and New Zealand to be nominated for the prestigious Blake Leader Award and the Blake Medal Award. Previous Blake Leaders have worked in the arts, community, business, culture, ethnic affairs, education, sport, research, public service, politics and the environment.

BLAKE LEADER AWARD: The Blake Leader Award is presented to up to six mid-career leaders each year. It recognises inspirational leaders who have determination, a will to succeed, and a belief in achieving extraordinary things. Past recipients have been people such as Tim Alpe, Michelle Dickinson, and Beatrice Faumuina.

BLAKE MEDAL AWARD: The Blake Medal is our premium award for outstanding leadership achievement in New Zealand. This prestigious award helps us to identify, acknowledge and celebrate the top echelon of New Zealand leaders who have made an outstanding contribution to this country over their lifetime. We make one award each year. Past recipients have been people such as Sir Peter Jackson, Sir Stephen Tindall, and Dame Margaret Bazley.


To be considered for a Blake Leader or Blake Medal Award, our Selection Panelists will take into considerate the following:

  • Show outstanding leadership
  • Demonstrate the ability to build and lead successful teams
  • Display some or all of the characteristics that Sir Peter Blake himself demonstrated:
    • determination and the will to succeed
    • belief in achieving extraordinary things
    • a willingness to learn
    • a desire for constant improvement
    • the initiative to pursue an idea
    • trusting and empowering teammates
    • integrity
    • working hard
    • having fun
  • Demonstrate a commitment to New Zealand (and be a New Zealand citizen)

2016 Blake Leadership Award Winners

On Friday 1 July 2016, The Governor-General, Lieutenant General The Rt. Hon Sir Jerry Mateparae, presented prestigious Blake Medal and Blake Leader awards at a black-tie evening hosted at Auckland Museum in front of more than 300 New Zealand leaders, friends, family and supporters of Sir Peter Blake and the Sir Peter Blake Trust.

Above: 2016 Blake Leadership Award winners Frances Valintine, Nancy Bertler, Sir Peter Gluckman (Blake Medallist), Stacey Shortall, Ben Kepes and Rob Waddell.

Peter was the consummate team leader - absolutely loyal, inspirational and able to encourage in his team a conviction that they would ultimately win through commitment, ability, and tenacity - tempered with a modicum of patience and a whole lot of enjoyment. Sir Ron Carter